top of page
  • philippadyvill

Mid 1450's Purple Gown

Did I do a good job documenting the process of creating this gown? No.

Am I going to post it anyway? Yes.


I'm working up to a basic set of garb for when events can begin again. This is a mid-1400s gown, based on instructions from The Medieval Tailor's Assistant. It's made from a light purple silk I found at my local discount fabric shop (for about $10/yd) and a cotton velveteen, chosen because the velveteen has a shorter pile, closer to period velvet.


Overall, this dress is alright. I'm not entirely happy with the fit, nor with some of the collar, which doesn't seem to lie quite the way I want it to. Still, it will get me through many an event. It was quite warm, even in the October snow!






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page